Skip navigation
Free instant online valuation

Property Features

Back to Blog

Wigan on course to add to their record 19 wins!


The 2018 Challenge Cup, (also known as the Ladbrokes Challenge Cup for sponsorship reasons) is the 117th staging of the Challenge Cup, the main rugby league knock-out tournament for teams in the European Super League, the British National Leagues and a number of invited amateur clubs


The defending champions were Hull, who beat Wigan Warriors 18–14 at Wembley on 26 August 2017. However, they were knocked out in the quarter final this year, after losing 25–22 to St Helens.


Catalans Dragons beat St Helens 35–16 in the semi-final, whilst the Warrington Wolves destroyed Leeds Rhinos 48–12. The semi-finals were played at Bolton’s Macron Stadium on the same day (August 5th) for the first time in Challenge Cup history, with every minute of the fast-paced action broadcast live on the BBC. Macron Stadium, which has a capacity of just under 30,000, is no stranger to Rugby League, with three World Club Challenge games and three international Test matches being played there between 1998 and 2007.


Catalan Dragons and Warrington Wolves therefore will play in the final together at Wembley Stadium on August 25th. The Ladbrokes Challenge Cup Final is like nothing else when fans across the country get together to celebrate all things Rugby League at the iconic Wembley Stadium: an event which includes intense drama on the pitch, and live music, friendly festival atmosphere, and much more.


The final of the Challenge Cup at Wembley Stadium is one of the most prestigious matches in the world of Rugby League. ‘Abide with me’ is sung before the game and has become a rugby league anthem. Wigan are the most successful club in the history in the competition winning the trophy a record 19 times; and are on course to add to that record.


The format of the competition is eight knock-out rounds followed by a final. The first two rounds are composed entirely of 48 amateur teams. The 12 winners of the second round ties are joined in round three by the 14 League 1 teams. For the fourth round, the 13 winners from round three are joined by 11 of the 12 Championship teams, (Toulouse Olympique who play in the Championship, have declined to enter the 2018 cup competition).


Round five sees four Super League teams entering the competition. These are the four teams that finished in the top four positions of the 2017 Qualifiers and were Warrington Wolves, Widnes Vikings, Hull Kingston Rovers and Catalan Dragons. The remaining eight Super League teams join in round six.

Back to Blog